The George Tallman Ladd award is made to a faculty member within the College of Engineering in recognition of outstanding research and professional accomplishments and potential. The award is in the form of a memento and an honorarium. More than one award may be made in each year.


The basis for selection will be excellence in research as measured by:

  • scholarly publications
  • research program development
  • development of funding
  • awards and other recognition



The award is restricted to assistant professors in the College of Engineering who have not yet been considered for promotion to Associate Professor. “Not yet considered” in this context means faculty whose package for promotion to Associate Professor has not yet been submitted to the College. Faculty whose promotion is being considered during the current academic year are not eligible. Faculty who are assistant professors when nominated and who will still be assistant professors when the award is given (the Fall after their nomination) are eligible.

Faculty can be nominated no more than twice regardless of the length of their appointment as an assistant professor.


Nomination requirements

Nominations for the award will be submitted by the College of Engineering department heads to the College of Engineering Awards and Recognition Committee for Faculty by the deadline. Each department head may submit only one nomination each year.

The nomination should include:

  • a citation of no more than 100 words
  • a nomination letter of no more than two pages, including justification of the nomination
  • a current curriculum vitae for the nominee
  • the nominee-generated documentation used to support the case for re-appointment as an assistant professor. This should NOT include the department letter or any other supporting information.

No letters other than the nomination letter should be submitted. The candidate may be re-nominated once.

Selection of the award winner or winners is performed by the College of Engineering Awards and Recognition Committee for Faculty. All awards will be announced at the Annual College of Engineering Faculty Meeting.