The Benjamin Richard Teare Teaching Award is made to a faculty member within the College of Engineering in recognition of excellence in engineering education.

The award consists of a memento and an honorarium. More than one award may be made in any year.


The basis for selection will be excellence in engineering education in the areas of teaching and/or educational innovation and educational leadership. The award may be made on the basis of outstanding teaching performance alone, or some combination of teaching, educational innovation, and educational leadership. Examples of contributions that are expected of Teare Award recipients are:

  • writing scholarly texts, especially for classroom use,
  • developing new laboratories,
  • developing new courses,
  • developing new educational programs,
  • outstanding classroom teaching,
  • leadership in project course activities,
  • outstanding laboratory instruction, or
  • developing or using educational software.



The award is open to any faculty member in the College of Engineering, including regular, research, lecturer, and special faculty, without regard to age or academic rank.



Nominations for the award will be submitted by the College of Engineering department heads to the College of Engineering Recognition Committee for Faculty by the deadline. Documentation to support the nomination should include:

  • a citation of approximately 100 words,
  • a one-page justification of the nomination,
  • a current copy of the nominee's resume,
  • a full set of FCE scores for the nominee,
  • letters of reference from two members of the Carnegie Mellon faculty,
  • letters of reference from three current or former students of the nominee, and
  • any other optional materials the nominating department may consider appropriate.

Selection of the award winner or winners is performed by the College of Engineering Faculty Awards Committee. All awards will be announced at the Annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.