Research centers and institutes

The College of Engineering has a wealth of research projects, working collaboratively across departments and colleges and with partners in academia, industry, and government. The centers below represent college-level centers. Use the links below to review an overview of our research centers or go directly to their website.

Carnegie Mellon Electricity Industry Center (CEIC)

Director: Jay Apt, Professor, Engineering & Public Policy and Tepper School of Business

Carnegie Bosch Institute

President: Christopher Martin, President, Carnegie Bosch Institute


Center for Advanced Process Decision-Making (CAPD)

Director: Carl Laird, Professor of Chemical Engineering

Center for Air, Climate, and Energy Solutions (CACES)

Director: Allen Robinson, Director, CMU-Africa and Raymond J Lane Distinguished Professor of Engineering and Public Policy and Mechanical Engineering

Center for Atmospheric Particle Studies (CAPS)

Director: Peter Adams, Department Head and Thomas Lord Professor, Engineering and Public Policy, and Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Engineering and Public Policy

Center for Climate and Energy Decision Making (CEDM)

Director: M. Granger Morgan, Hamerschlag University Professor, Engineering & Public Policy

Center for Complex Fluids Engineering (CCFE)

Director: Robert Tilton, Professor, Chemical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering

Center for the Engineering and Resilience for Climate Adaptation (CERCA)

Director: Constantine Samaras, Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Center for the Environmental Implications of Nanotechnology (CEINT)

Director, CEINT@Carnegie Mellon; Deputy Director, CEINT: Greg Lowry, Walter J. Blenko Sr. Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Center for Iron and Steelmaking Research (CISR)

Director: P. Chris Pistorius, POSCO Professor of Materials Science & Engineering

CyLab Security and Privacy Institute

Director: Lorrie Cranor, Professor, CyLab, Engineering & Public Policy, and Software and Societal Systems Department

Data Storage Systems Center (DSSC)

Director: Jimmy Zhu, ABB Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Associate Director: James Bain, Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering

Green Design Institute (GDI)

Co-Director: Chris Hendrickson, Duquesne Light Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Co-Director: Paulina Jaramillo, Professor, Engineering & Public Policy

Manufacturing Futures Institute (MFI)

Faculty Director: Gary Fedder, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Robotics Institute

Executive Director: Sandra DeVincent Wolf

Materials Characterization Facility

Faculty Director: Marc De Graef, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

Interim Managing Director: Betsy Clark

Mobility data Analytics Center (MAC)

Director: Sean Qian, Henry Posner, Anne Molloy and Robert and Christine Pietrandrea Associate Professor, Civl & Environmental Engineering

NextManufacturing Center

Faculty Co-Director: Jack Beuth, Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Faculty Co-Director: Anthony Rollett, Professor, Materials Science & Engineering

Executive Director: Sandra DeVincent Wolf

Smart Infrastructure Institute (SII)

Faculty Director: Mario Bergés, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Steinbrenner Institute for Environmental Education and Research

Director: Neil Donahue, Professor of Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, and Engineering & Public Policy

Wilton E. Scott Institute for Energy Innovation

Director: Jay Whitacre, Trustee Professor in Energy of Materials Science and Engineering and Engineering and Public Policy

Co-Director: Andrew Gellman, Lord Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering