Dean’s Advocacy Council

The College of Engineering Dean’s Advocacy Council is comprised of business and alumni leaders who provide strategic assistance in advancing the priorities of the College, as well as serve as ambassadors of and active advocates for the College. The Council’s commitment and leadership help to assure that the mission and goals of the College are met. The Council plays a vital role in helping Carnegie Mellon University’s College of Engineering continue its recognition as an elite engineering college. Current members are listed below:

Wayne Balta

Wayne Balta E’82
Vice President, Corporate Environmental Affairs and Product Safety

John Bertucci

John Bertucci E’63, TPR’65
Chairman of the Board 
MKS Instruments, Inc. 


Raymond Betler

Raymond Betler DC’79, E’79
Retired, President & CEO 
Wabtec Corporation 


Michele Blazek

Michele Blazek E’87
Director of Environmental Health and Safety
Stanford Health Care 

Paul Browning

Paul Browning E’90
Eagles Aerie, LLC 


Michael Bruce

Michael Bruce E’95
President and CEO 
Sirius Technical Services, Inc. 


Barbara Buck

Barbara Buck E’73
International Molybdenum Association 


Aris Candris

Aris Candris E’74, E’78
Retired, President and CEO 
Westinghouse Electric Company


Russell Crockett

Russell Crockett E’87
Senior Energy Advisor
RTC Energy LLC 


Shyam Dighe

Shyam Dighe E’77, E’79
Founder, President, & CEO 
Dighe Technologies Corporation and
Aquasource Technologies Corporation 



Philip Dowd E’63
Managing Director
Sherick Enterprises LLC


Edward Frank

Edward Frank S’85
Founder & Vinter
Compass Vineyards

Dirk Gates

Dirk Gates
President, Tarana Wireless


Deepak Gupta

Deepak Gupta E’89
Founder and Chairman 
The Denita Group of Companies 


Patricia Hatter

Patricia Hatter E’84, E’87
Strategic Advisor, Multiple Startups
Senior Vice President, Global Customer Service
and Chief Customer Officer
Palo Alto Networks 


Steve Hoover

Steve Hoover E’89, E’94
Advisor, Evercloak Inc.
Board Member, Consumer Reports



Matt Howard
Managing Partner
Norwest Venture Partners

Kathryn Jackson

Kathryn Jackson E’87, E’90
Director, Energy & Technology Consulting 


Raj Kapoor

Raj Kapoor E’92
Co-Founder and Managing Partner


John Kenny

John Kenny E’82
Executive Vice President & Director
Gannett Fleming, Inc. 


Oleg Khaykin

Oleg Khaykin E’87
President and CEO 
Viavi Solutions, Inc. 


John Kibarian

John Kibarian E’86, E’88, E’90
President & CEO
PDF Solutions 

Tom Klopack

Tom Klopack E’73
Executive Consultant
Progenity, Inc. 



Hillard Lazarus

Hillard Lazarus E’70
Retired, Professor of Medicine 
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine 


Tom Marchock

Tom Marchok E’87, E’89, E’95
Business Development, Private Equity
Amazon Web Services (AWS)


Frank Marshall

Frank Marshall E’69 
General Partner 
Big Basin Partners LP 



Drew Perkins

Drew Perkins E’86
Mojo Vision, INc.


Opal Perry

Opal Perry E’93
Executive Vice President & Cheif Information Officer 
The Hertz Corporation 


Kears Pollock E’62, E’64
Retired, Executive Vice President
PPG Industries, Inc.


Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers E’04, E’05


Hauke Schmidt

Hauke Schmidt
Head of Corporate Research North America 
Robert Bosch LLC 

Venkee Sharma

Venkee Sharma E’87, TPR’87
President & CEO 
Aquatech International Corporation


John Sontag

John Sontag E’79
Retired, Vice President, Systems Research 
Hewlett Packard Labs



Lip-Bu Tan

Lip-Bu Tan
Chief Executive Officer 
Cadence Design Systems 
Founder & Chairman 
Walden International 


Sin Min Yap

Sin Min Yap 
Vice President, Strategy & Partnerships