Dear Friends,

It has been an exciting year! Our students have won a number of prestigious awards: Josh Kubiak received a prestigious Goldwater Scholarship; our Society of Women Engineers (SWE) chapter won numerous achievement awards; and our CMU Racing Team won a first-place design award for their new hybrid racing car design. Faculty have also received significant awards: Jay Whitacre (MSE and BME) won the MIT-Lemmelson Prize for his entrepreneurship; Katie Whitehead (ChemE) was named one of the Brilliant 10 by Popular Science; and Marios Savvides (ECE and CyLab) received the Edison Award for his work on biometrics for security.

This year, we were selected by the Young Presidents' Organization/World Presidents' Organization (YPO/WPO) to be a member of their invitation-only Faculty to Global Leaders Program. CMU was selected to provide the YPO/WPO with exciting content related to engineering and robotics. We held a kickoff in September with over 100 local YPO/WPO members attending (see page 14).

The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy announced the creation of the MetroLab Network, a collection of over 24 collaborations between cities and their local universities. The MetroLab Network will be led by Carnegie Mellon University’s Metro21 Initiative and receive support from the MacArthur Foundation. The Metro21 Initiative, directed by ECE’s Raj Rajkumar, aims to improve the quality of life in metropolitan areas by delivering higher-quality and more cost-effective infrastructure and public services. Metro21 involves faculty and students from the College of Engineering, the Heinz College, the School of Computer Science, the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the College of Fine Arts. Metro21 and the City of Pittsburgh signed a Memorandum of Understanding this year to use the city as a testbed for smart infrastructure and smart city concepts being developed by Metro21 researchers. This is an exciting development and builds on a variety of research projects highlighted in this newsletter.

The College of Engineering recently received a grant from The Bosch Group to create the Bosch Distinguished Professor in Security and Privacy Technologies that will support the directorship of CyLab, currently Director David Brumley. CyLab is a university-wide, multidisciplinary institute which addresses cybersecurity and privacy issues. We are grateful to Bosch for this generous gift and for their recognition of the quality of cybersecurity and privacy research taking place at CMU.

We have also received significant support from numerous other corporations and alumni. My colleagues and I are tremendously grateful for this funding which allows us to hire and retain the best and brightest faculty and provides students the opportunity to learn and grow through participation in hands-on research. These investments allow the College of Engineering to continue and be recognized for our cutting-edge research and education. Thanks to all of you for your support toward the continuous improvement of the College of Engineering.



James H. Garrett Jr.

Dean, College of Engineering